Attempted mugging!

I was very surprised (and a bit wobbled) by a young man trying to mug me earlier today. He ran into me at good pace, grabbed my phone, we grappled for a bit, and when he realised I wasn’t necessarily the easy target he’d figured, he let go and ran off. Top of Church Street, broad daylight. People around. He was a good runner, I guess he counted on that.

It is half term. He was well dressed (my jeans are a lot scruffier), and at a glance seemed well situated. Around 17, maybe? Hard to tell.

Luckily, I was on my way to a meeting with my friend Vanessa, who at all times offers great contact with the earth, perspective, and a good, honest laugh.

She told me of her friend, who had a guy mug her outside Old Street Station. He looked at it in dismay, and asked her if it was a decoy. She said “No, this is my phone!”, upon which he said “It’s shit – not even worth nicking!” and handed it back to her.

It seems at least thieves can be choosers these days, even if beggars can’t.

One Response to “Attempted mugging!”

  1. “and when he realised I wasn’t necessarily the easy target he’d figured, he let go and ran off.” I like that phrase.

Leave a Reply

