This Is Scenius – Brian Eno & co

I went to Brian Eno’s gig at the Dome on Sunday (9 May). Perhaps it would be more accurate to say I dragged myself; it was my first venture out after a few days of being poorly. Enjoyable, from a Brian Eno point of view – he has an excellent command of time, and shows a remarkable degree of relaxed control.

The musicians seemed really into what they were doing, and that was what gave it the charm it needed for warmth. They weren’t lost in ambience the whole concert – they built quite a nice groove at times.

At one point, a guy in the audience shouted (very audibly) “I love you Brian!”. It wasn’t a particularly rock’n’roll event, so his enthusiasm was a little surprising but endearing. I can’t recall Eno’s reply, but it was suitably wry.

The projections were partially engaging – I enjoyed the post-it style collage.

Afterwards I went to My Hotel for a couple of glasses of wine with friends, somewhat improvised but very pleasant.

Leave a Reply

